i. Members

In this section we need to differentiate between those, on the first level, that are members of the project, and those, on the second level, that are associates in the project.

The UIB and the UdG are e-MTA Campus members on the first level. Since they were set up in 1978 and 1991 respectively, the UIB and the UdG have activated the social and economic situation in their respective Autonomous Communities thanks to their ability to train postgrads and conduct R&D&I programmes, increasing their technological capital, qualified staff, entrepreneurial skills and ability to create wealth and employment.

The first level of membership also includes research institutes and centres, which carry out their work in collaboration with the universities. These are specifically centres that belong to the Higher Scientific Research Centre (CSIC) and the Mediterranean Institute for Advanced Studies (IMEDEA), the Institute for Cross-Disciplinary Physics and Complex (IFISC), both of which are mixed centres of the UIB, and the centres linked to the UdG such as the Blanes Advanced Studies Centre (CEAB) and the ICRA, a major research centre of reference in the field of water, which was set up by the Catalan government and is part of the CERCA network of centres.

At the second level, the associates in the project, the e-MTA Campus has more than 80 companies, organisations and institutions that are leaders in the Campus’ Strategic Areas, Lines of Specialisation and Innovation Ecosystems. Along with these we should also include a significant number of companies of a smaller size and scope, which, however, show the links between the campus and the industry on every level.

Associates companies include, in particular, Agbar (The Water Industry), Sol-Meliá, Riu, Barceló, the TurisTEC Cluster of businesses (Tourism Technology), and the Gerona Costa Brava Trust, among others.

associate organisationsAssociate organisations and institutions include the Catalan Water Agency (ACA), a public body run by the Catalan government and responsible for water policy in Catalonia; Cetaqua, a research centre part-owned by the UPC, the Spanish National Research Council and Agbar; the Water Platform,, and the Spanish Committee for the Treatment of Water (META), networks of organisations that conduct R&D work in the field of water; the Costa Brava Consortium, the Farmers’ Union, the Catalan Landscape Observatory, the Coastal Observation System of the Balearic Islands (SOCIB); the Tourism Research, Development and Innovation Centre (CIDTUR Foundation); the Spanish Oceanographic Institute (IEO), the Spanish Agrarian and Food Research and Technology Institute (INIA), and the Palma Beach Consortium, a national tourism pilot project, among others.

The associate Science and Technology Parks include PCTUdG and ParcBIT, which are key instruments and levers in transferring technology and knowledge to industry.

The associate Universities include the Polytechnic University of Catalonia (UPC), which contributes complementary features and strong water technology, engineering research and knowledge potential, as well as the International University of Catalonia and the University of Vic.

Furthermore, the members and associates belonging to the e-MTA Campus are a driving force in their respective areas of operation and the activating basis for the Pyrenees-Mediterranean Cross-Border Research and Higher Education Group (PRES-PM), in which, in addition to the UIB and the UdG, the universities of Perpignan Via Domitia University (UPVD) and Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris VI) University are also involved through the Oceanographic Observatory of Banyuls-sur-Mer.

International members of the e-MTA Campus include organisations such as the Max Planck Society in Germany, which conducts research work in many different scientific fields, and the CINDA and Orion international networks in Latin America, international relations with China, Russia and the USA and the alliances formed through the Eurotown project, among others.

From the viewpoint of the Campus’ geographical location, the chart of players involved in the e-MTA Campus can be set out as follows:

Proyecto financiado por el Ministerio de Educación, Cultura y Deporte en el marco del Programa Campus de Excelencia Internacional

Universitat de les Illes Balears ⋅ Ctra. de Valldemossa, km 7.5 ⋅ Palma ⋅ 07122 Illes Balears ⋅ Tel: +34 971 173 000
Universitat de Girona - Campus e-MTA ⋅ Parc Científic i Tecnològic, Edifici Casademont ⋅ C. Pic de Peguera, 15, ⋅ 17003 Girona Tel. 972 419 678
CSIC. Serrano, 117 ⋅ 28006 Madrid ⋅ Tel: +34 914 113 077
Institut Català de Recerca de l’Aigua (ICRA)Edifici H2O - Parc Científic i Tecnològic de la Universitat de Girona. Emili Grahit 101- 17003 Girona

2012 © e-MTA Campus Euromediterráneo del Turismo y el Agua AVISO LEGAL| MAPA WEB